lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-17-2019, 05:56 PM   #1
DbyC
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default 09 EZGO TXT PDS Beast 48 - Cart occasionally doesn't move when pushing pedal

Background:
I recently became the owner of a 2009 Beast 48 that needs some work. I was told by the previous owner that it had some issues either with the controller or solenoid. It was a good deal, so I got it. This is my first time to own an electric golf cart.

EZGO TXT PDS
48V
Alltrax DCX500 Controller
MZJ400A Solenoid
Batteries are 2 years old, charge well, good voltage

It ran fine when I looked at it and picked it up. I drove it around my property for a few days with no issue. When I turn the key ON, the Controller LED blinks green 4 times and then stays solid green (normal operation per the guide I found online). From what I've observed, the solenoid is engaging and disengaging when it should.

So, I decided to perform some needed maintenance:
repacked wheel bearings, replaced bushing on shocks and leaf springs, replaced bulbs with LED's, greased zerk ports, and replaced battery cage.

Issue:
Once I got all the batteries hooked up, I turned the key ON and noticed that the Controller blinked 4 green (as usual) and then blinked 2 red. Per the manual, this is an under temperature (-25 degC) error code. The outside temperature was 45 degF. I turned the key OFF and ON a few times...same result. After 15 minutes, I tried it again and it worked fine. Was able to drive it around, but noticed that it was a little jerky when driving (like the throttle was sluggish and then would kick in...almost enough to raise the front wheels).