lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-27-2013, 01:14 AM   #1
jpgoodnu
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default 1993 EZ-GO Mods?

Greetings Folks, I am a Newbie to Golf Carting, but well versed in Car,Truck,ATV mods,etc. I have been trained as an Electronics tech although haven't used that training in a number of years. I am attempting to assist my Father in Law with some performance concerns with his 1993 EZ-GO 36V 4 seater Electric cart. It is a model#E1093 serial#742879. Not sure what this unit is considered (Marathon?) and I haven't yet traveled to check it out and not sure if it's analog/mechanical or a sold state type unit.The batteries are a couple of seasons old and allegedly been tested as good and been balance charged. The connections are all tight and clean and all battery cables were replaced less than a year ago,unfortunately with stock 6AWG. The unit doesn't handle the moderate grades at his campground well with 4 people in it and the cables get hot and occasionally you can smell it getting hot,not burning or melting anything just that distinctive "hot" smell. Our goal is to increase the torque to handle the mild hills better and if that also results in some more speed there won't be any complaints. What is the most effective "bang for the buck" I can do and is there a list of things to do over time as sequential upgrades. My theory was to initially upgrade all the cables to 2 Gauge and possibly add 1 or 2 additional 6V batteries to get to 42 or 48 volts and suspect the stock motor,switches,solenoids and controller will handle it(atleast at 42V) If I do that then a new charger will be needed and not sure if that is cost effective or if a 48V charger can be used on a 42V system,although I have read of several people doing so. Do you guys use desulphators a