lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-12-2016, 08:57 AM   #1
Molon Labe
Gone Wild

Yamaha

Default Locking the differential on a G1

So I've been thinking about flipping the gears in the diff to lock it up so I can get some better traction in the woods. I know many of you have done this before so I wanted to ask is it worth it and if so how big of a pain in the butt is it to do? I've never worked on a golf cart diff before so I could also use some helpful tips from some of you who did this to your G1. Thanks in advance for any input.
Molon Labe is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-12-2016, 11:04 PM   #2
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

Default Re: Locking the differential on a G1

its totally worth it, depending on your intended use. It does have 2 drawbacks, reduced steering response (the back "locked" makes the front try to always go straight). and increased tire wear on any surface that is not loose like sand. if you do alot of street driving, leave it alone. if it is used mainly off-road in sand & mud, do it! its not too hard, once the axle is out of the cart. >IMPORTANT< Use a gasket for the axle housing "halves", dont replace the gasket with only silicone to seal the two halves together, the gasket's thickness is part of the spacing for the gears & bearings. its one of those things where "maybe" there is enough tolerance, maybe not, dont find out the expensive way there was not enough.
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2016, 08:37 AM   #3
Molon Labe
Gone Wild

Yamaha