lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-03-2014, 11:22 AM   #1
kevinrazor
Not Yet Wild

Default '84 ex go Marathon robin 244cc - starter generator issue

my starter generator will spin the motor when it's in reverse but will not when it's in the forward position. If I hold the gas pedal down for any length of time when it' s in forward the starter will begin to heat up and will smoke a little. Even when it spins in reverse the engine never seems to actually "start" it just seems as if the starter is the only thing turning the engine. Also, it does nothing when I stick it in Neutral. I am new to gas golf carts and especially ancient ones and have no idea how it actually functions although I am familiar with small gas engines. Just fyi my serial number is 343318, 84414
the starter-generator is a Hitachi GSB107-03
kevinrazor is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-03-2014, 08:47 PM   #2
redcloud
Gone Wild

Default Re: '84 ex go Marathon robin 244cc - starter generator issue

Do a cleanup of all grounds from battery post to frame and engine grounds. Now you should also check to make sure you are getting good spark and have compression from over 90#s to 125#s and of course gas is getting to the engine as to actually start it as you say the starter seems to be running it. If no go..
Then do a check of voltage as it is going through its routing from battery to the limit switch to the solenoid. If you are not getting solid 12 volts to the starter from the solenoid you could over heat the starter/gen. Other area's need to be looked at also as far as the rev/forward switch. Look over and do a 12 volt check from ignition switch on through to all items. If that fails you may need to remover starter/gen and rebuild it.