lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-03-2008, 06:46 PM   #1
lou13545
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Hello Buggies Gone Wild

Just joined your site and have enjoied reading alot of the threads in this forum. I just decided to take my dads old '86 ezgo gas and fix it up. its been sitting still for about a year and a half. last time it ran was in the surf at the beach! not a smart move i know but my dad let some kids take it down the beach. so i know this is going to be a tough rebuild. this is my first time rebuilding a cart engine. any ideas where to start? it wont roll at all. checked to see if the brake cable was hung up and it didnt seem to be. any help would be appreciated!
lou13545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-03-2008, 09:09 PM   #2
Goat53
Gone Wild

Default Re: Hello Buggies Gone Wild

I would start by getting my hands on a service manuel on the cart , then pulling the engine and see if it moves without the engine ,, If you are going to rebuild it it needs to come out anyway . if still locked I would remove the brake cables ,, check for roll , then move on to removing brake drums ,, if still locked get another cart this year model isn't worth a lot and except for your dad owning it ,,it may wind up costing 2 or 3 times what it's worth to fix up , espically after spending a long time around the beach .
Goat53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 10:45 PM   #3
rusty
Golf Cart Photographer

Club Car

Welcome to the forum lou13545................
rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 12:29 PM   #4
lou13545
Not Yet Wild

E-Z-GO

thanks for the welcome! where can i get ahold of one of those manuals? i see that you can buy them but i figure there is somewhere you can get a copy for free, right?