lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-07-2016, 02:28 PM   #1
Cgl
Not Yet Wild

Default Medalist problems

Hey guys, I have a 36 volt medalist I've been modifying for the last 6 months. I'm having some power issues.

Completely at random the cart dies, acts like the batteries are dead. Now this can happen 30 mins into driving or 3 minutes into driving.

I haven't done any electrical modifications aside from adding a separate 12v system for my tunes and lights. No work on the stock 36v system at all.

I know my charger is good. My battery life gauge (gas gauge) works. And I've had it happen while my gas gauge is reading about 90% battery.

Is this a common issue? Can anyone point me in the right direction at all as to what to be checking/fixing

Thanks for your time.

Chris
Cgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-07-2016, 06:34 PM   #2
Clemsoncartguy
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Re: Medalist problems

Put a volt meter on the batteries at rest and when it happens?

These guys say those things are hokey and not reliable
Clemsoncartguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 06:43 PM   #3
crash test dummy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clemsoncartguy View Post

These guys say those things are hokey and not reliable
he means the battery life gauge

check all the battery cables , give them a tug and a wiggle
then check the nuts for tightness
Old 05-12-2016, 07:05 PM   #4
Cgl
Not Yet Wild

Hey again guys, all my cables are tight, I do however have a fair bit of corrosion on the terminals. That will be cleaned up tonight. The batteries are 8 years old, I'll be replacing them shortly as well, and my main power wireally is getting fairly warm. Plan on upgrading cables as well.