lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-03-2021, 03:27 PM   #1
PD4
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default 91 EZGO 3pg - Just Top End Rebuild Needed?

I have my 91 ezgo 3pg engine out, and the piston is shot. I purchased the cart a year ago and it ran great for awhile, then started giving me trouble. When I finally pulled the motor, I noticed there was no head gasket at all, which likely led to the broken ring and damaged piston. Also have a little bit of damage at the top of the cylinder. I'm wondering (hoping) all I need is a top end rebuild. I've attached some pictures. This is my first time posting and first time working on this engine, so I'm a bit clueless, though I've gleaned enough from this forum to actually get the engine out and take a look. What exactly should I look for to determine if the bottom end is okay? I'm also in need of a new reed cage, but I hear they are ridiculously hard to find. I ordered the smaller banshee reed cage someone else on this forum had rigged and will see what I can do with that. But if anyone has an OEM, that'd be ideal. Thanks in advance for the help!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1568.jpg (209.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1567.jpg (216.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1566.jpg (209.6 KB, 0 views)
PD4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 06:18 PM   #2
trig123
Vintage tech
E-Z-GO

Default Re: 91 EZGO 3pg - Just Top End Rebuild Needed?

It looks to me like it has been run without oil mix ? How did you mix the gas and oil ?
Those pictures sort of look bad. These engines were only made a few years and parts are rare.
This might help you. Good luck
https://buggiesgonewild.com/showthread.php?t=101207
trig123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 09:31 AM   #3
PD4
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha