lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-22-2021, 03:40 PM   #1
Steveslf
Not Yet Wild

Default Upgraded DS trouble-shooting - things got hot

I am somewhat new to the CC-DS world. I installed the Scotty B 48v IQ upgrade and everything was working fine (except for the occasional jerky starts) when the cart stranded me a mile from home with the wife, two babies, and a puppy.

We stopped after about 3 miles of paved roads and the cart would not get going again, it just "pulsed" a bit in both forward and reverse. The solenoid was HOT, and the motor was very warm, not hot. I will admit that this particular ride we were raveling at half electric throttle. The IQ Conversion upgrade kit was a 500 AMP Altrax, Admiral A4, and a 400 Amp solenoid. I did not go crazy on tires so I used 20" turf tires.

I towed the cart home and let it completely cool down but the pulsing when the throttle is pressed remains and the cart will not move.

Is there an order of diagnostics I should try first? It is a 1991 CC-DS that I rebuilt from the frame up so I am not shy about tearing it all apart again if needed.

Any help or advise would be appreciated.

Steve
Attached Images
File Type: jpg All Photos - 1 of 1 (2).jpg (18.7 KB, 0 views)
Steveslf is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-22-2021, 03:53 PM   #2
Tom47
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: Upgraded DS trouble-shooting - things got hot

It sound like you are losing voltage somewhere. Maybe a loose battery terminal or motor terminal. If the motor was hot but you were able to leave your hand on it, it's fine. 165 degrees will burn you but the motor is ok.