lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-11-2022, 06:07 PM   #1
JackL1956
Not Yet Wild

Default 2007 Precedent Navitas Upgrade

I have just purchased a 2007 Precedent. My aim is to install a Navitas 600A controller and 5KW motor, and to convert to lithium.

Importantly, I have owned a golf cart for several days now, I am a newbie with a capital N. After having lurked here for several days, (wearing out the search function), I’ve managed to figure out that you guys are a great resource. Let me say thanks on the front end.

I would like to pose a few questions:

My 2007 Precedent has the electronics installed in the center (between the batteries); does this pose any issues in terms of the wiring harness? I’m a retired electrician — I’ve known many electricians that were fired for cutting wire too short — never for cutting wire too long. All the YouTube Navitas videos I’ve watched were Precedent models with electronics mounted at the rear of the battery bucket.

The Navitas website indicates the Club Car DS models require a lift kit to install the 5KW motor. Will a Navitas 5KW motor install in 2007 Precedent without a lift kit.

At first look, I like the drop in replacement “Marketing Line” from allied lithium. That said, any advice on lithium upgrades would be appreciated. Watching YouTube videos leads me to believe it would make sense to install batteries equally spaced on both sides of the electronics compartment. I’ve seen videos where a single battery was installed on one side of the cart. Would that affect drivability.

Oh, the reason I’m planning these upgrades is to have a project for my grandson and I to do together. Seems like a great electro/mechanical learning opportunity.
JackL1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW