lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Yamaha
Electric Yamaha Electric Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-22-2015, 07:57 PM   #1
matto
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Post Question about changing oil in rearend of G16E

Hello,

I'm new to this, I currently have my cart taken apart to change the brushes in the motor. While I have everything apart I figured it would be a good time to check or change the oil in the rearend. Can anyone please offer some advice. I need to know how, what replacement parts I might need and what kind of oil to put back in.

So far I have changed all the cables out to 4G cleaned all contacts, and F/R switch. I really don't want to take this back apart because I didn't do something. So if I should do anything else please advise.

Thank you
matto is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-22-2015, 08:17 PM   #2
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

Default Re: Question about changing oil in rearend of G16E

It holds 305cc of 75w90 gear lube. Can be changed by removing pan to drain, replace pan and pump 305cc oil in hole. This is assuming you have the "dana" axle with the stamped steel diff cover. If you have the "yamaha built" axle with no steel cover, it has a drain plug, and a fill plug (i dont recall how much it holds).
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 08:21 PM   #3
matto
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Thank you. I'm guessing I have the one with the Stamped Steel pan. Trying to get all the oil off of it to be sure. I haven't found a plug. When you say pump oil back in to hole. What hole are you talking about? Do I need to replace the pan gasket?

Thank you for helping me
Old 04-22-2015, 09:22 PM   #4
cgtech

Yamaha