lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-03-2017, 06:05 PM   #1
rking1998
Getting Wild

Default Is my motor fried?

Remember, I am a newbie. My cart is an EZGO TXT DCS 36V. I bought a new Altrax XCT500 with a matching heavy duty solenoid from ScottyB.

Before I install my new controller, I am going through the test he sent me to determine if I have a short in my motor. Here is what I got:

S1 to S2 = 2.0 ohms
A1 to A2 = 95 ohms
A1 or A2 to the body = OL
S1 or S2 to the body = OL
A1 to S1 = 9.0 Mohms

I am concerned mostly about the A1 to A2 reading. I am thinking that the 9.0 Mohms reading from A1 to S1 is practically an open circuit.

Please give me feedback to tell me if I have a bad motor.

Thanks
Rick
rking1998 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-03-2017, 06:22 PM   #2
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

Default Re: Is my motor fried?

There is a problem with the armature or brushes for sure. A to S is likely ok.
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 06:52 PM   #3
rking1998
Getting Wild

Is this repairable or is it time to pony up the money for a new motor?
Old 07-03-2017, 07:24 PM   #4
cgtech

Yamaha

Unknown until the motor is torn down, inspected, and armature tested for short. It's a job for a motor rebuilder. Got any starter & alternator rebuild shops in your area?
Old 07-03-2017, 08:11 PM   #5
rking1998
Getting Wild

I have found a company close by that says they repair alternators, so I will give them a call on Wednesday. I am guessing that it will not be cheap to have my motor fixed and am wondering if it is worth it on an 18 year old motor.