lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-07-2019, 04:11 PM   #1
mjp1850
Not Yet Wild

Lightbulb Battery Voltage Conversion

Hey everyone,

I’m new to golf cart upgrades and recently purchased a 1996 Club Car DS. I’ve been researching and prepping my mods to get this old gal up to snuff with my neighborhood golf carters and have a question I would like to get some help on regarding batteries and voltages. I made the critical mistake of listening to the guy I bought the cart from and not checking for myself when he told me it was a 48v cart. I used his advice to purchase a new electric motor and controller package from Golf Cart King where I noted that my unit was a 48v unit after which I discovered I actually have a 36v (6 x 6v) battery setup (I’m an idiot). My first question is will this affect the motor/controller if I have a 36v setup on a motor/controller that is setup for 48v? Note that that purchase page/details for the controller and motor say it will work for both 36v and 48v setups; not sure if they tune it or switch it one way or the other since they specifically made me note in the purchae order that I had 48v batteries. Second question is would there by any other areas I need to worry about changing out if I decide to go ahead and bite the bullet and upgrade the batteries to 48v in a 6 x 8v setup for new batteries? The new motor/controller package I purchased comes with a new solenoid kit so I’m just not sure if there are any other complexities I need to consider aside from the cost of the new batteries to upgrade the batteries.

This is the actual spec info that came along with the motor/controller package: