lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-11-2016, 06:40 PM   #1
KatJ16
Not Yet Wild

Default Newbie needs advice on increasing speed 48v TXT

Hi, newbie here. Just purchased a 2010 TXT 48v over the weekend and sadly I am so slow going through the neighborhood that all of the cool carts are leading by 1/2 block or more.

Batteries are Trojan, in good condition and only a few years old, tires are standard size, no modifications done to the cart... Yet!

I've googled the hell out of the situation and know that I have to transport the cart to a dealer and have them magically unlock the speed settings. I plan to do it this week.

I would love to hear other 48v TXT owners suggestions on how they have increased the speed on their carts. I'm not looking for 50mph here but a smooth 20++ would be awesome. All/any advice is much appreciated.

I'm also hoping there is something that can be done about the auto braking system for downhill as its sad to drive like I'm a 90 year old golfer while everyone else is flying by with the wind in their hair. I'm thinking maybe increasing the rims and tires would help?

Thanks! KatJ
KatJ16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-11-2016, 06:45 PM   #2
jhnmflr
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Newbie needs advice on increasing speed 48v TXT

I'm not sure what differs between 2004 and 2010. I have 48 volts ( used to be 36) and 500 amp controller ( alltrax XCT) and 23" tires. I can run 27/28. The Xct allows to turn off hill braking regen and all sorts of stuff.
Just make sure to upgrade the brakes. See ScottyB on this forum!
jhnmflr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 08:35 PM   #3
Clemsoncartguy
Gone Wild
E-Z-GO