lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-25-2023, 10:00 PM   #1
KevinRB
Not Yet Wild
Cushman

Default Voltage issue.

1988 Gas Marathon
Bench testing my voltage regulator with a multi meter and the black lead in the center and red lead on the input side I get 46.6 ohms. On the output side I get 1.0 ohms. I also get continuity across all 3 terminals. Is this correct? Also I jumped the key switch wires because I don't have a key and when I do that I get 12 volts, however when I put in forward or reverse and push the pedal it drops to 3.3 volts. I also get 3.3 volts at the starter/generator. I'm new to this type of cart. I appreciate any info.
Thanks
KevinRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-26-2023, 10:12 AM   #2
Dabble Inn
Nincompoop Club Member

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Voltage issue.

My first thoughts are one of the micro switches, solenoid or a bad connection in the starting circuit. For an initial test I would take a jumper wire from the battery pos to the little pos terminal on the solenoid, that will by-pass the starting circuit so it should crank over and run. Then remove the jumper and poke the meter on each terminal of the circuit with the pedal pushed, micro switches/solenoid/fuse till you find the bad spot
Dabble Inn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 05:51 AM   #3
cart around
Test before replacing

E-Z-GO

You don't really say what is wrong with the cart, but it looks like you believe that there is a charging issue.

The way to test the voltage regulator is in the cart with the engine running.

You also didn't say where the meter probes are when you experience the voltage loss.