lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-17-2017, 07:40 AM   #1
browerjs
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Sound from batteries

I was out of town all week and just got home to my new 2012 TXT. First thing I did was pull out my multimeter and I had a voltage of 51.6. I did notice that there was a slight gurgling sound coming from the batteries. Is this normal? My wife said that it sounded like water boiling when charging so she didn't leave it plugged in all night.

I'm new to all this so I'm just trying to find out what's normal.
browerjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-17-2017, 07:43 AM   #2
scottyb
Happy Carting

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Sound from batteries

Batteries form and release gas bubbles from the bottom of the cells under heavy charge. This is not only normal but necessary to keep all the heavy elements in the battery water in the mix. This gas is hydrogen and the cart should be charged in a well ventilated area.
scottyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 12:48 PM   #3
ThreeCW
Gone Wild

Cushman

I find that my FLA (flooded lead acid) batteries will continue to "degas" even a day or two after charging. Bubbling and hissing sounds when charging and gurgling sounds after charging are normal as the hydrogen gas vents from the batteries. Hydrogen gas is highly explosive and you need to use caution ... remember the Hindenburg (see: http://www.airships.net/hindenburg/disaster/)

As such, I find that it is a good practice to "unplug the charger first" before disconnecting the charging plug to the cart. Removing any other "source of ignition" (such as a cigarette) should be obvious, but I will say it anyway
ThreeCW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 02:21 PM   #4
yurtle
Gone Mad
E-Z-GO