lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-11-2017, 08:56 PM   #1
Shmiller
Not Yet Wild

Default FE350 starter/generator charging system

Hello all,

I've turned to your forum for advice/insight on a project. I am re-powering an old sears tractor using the Kawasaki fe350 engine common to club car golf carts. It was a pull start engine and I have fitted a starter/generator to it for making it a key start.

I have the system starting the engine fine, but I'm stuck on charging the battery. From looking at wiring diagrams online, it seems as if the battery is charged "through" the solenoid, which means the solenoid would have to be engaged (read: closed) all the time while the engine is running.

My question is, is this accurate? I'm no mechanic, nor is this a golf cart, but hopefully ya'll can appreciate my project and assist me.
Shmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-11-2017, 09:21 PM   #2
DannyAbear
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: FE350 starter/generator charging system

There is a diode across the solinoid for it to charge
DannyAbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 07:28 AM   #3
mrgolf
Old Sky Soldier

Club Car

Get a solenoid for a golf cart. The are made to stay engaged, others will burn up pretty quick.
mrgolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 11:46 AM   #4
Fairtax4me
Bonafide Nincompoop

Club Car

Yep, the solenoid stays closed while the engine is running.
Second using a golf cart solenoid. The golf cart solenoids are designed to stay closed, whereas a normal car/truck starter solenoid is not.