lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-03-2020, 03:55 PM   #1
Raider97
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default 2014 CC Precedent upgrades with Allied Li Batteries?

All,

Newbie here. I have a 2014 Club Car Precedent i2, converted to 4 seater (rear-facing) that is lifted. I am acquiring the Allied 80Ah lithium battery system. Cart still has a stock motor and controller. It has 22' wheels already and does about 25 mph. I'm trying to decide on a whether to upgrade just a motor and/or controller but also have a question about amps from battery and the controller.

Which upgrade should I prioritize, the motor or controller and cables for more torque? Which motor (D&D, Plum Rhino, Admiral, FSIP). If I understand, the priority is the controller as the motor upgrades will require a larger Amp controller.

The Alltrax Sepex controllers are rated at 300, 400, and 500 amp but solenoids are 180-400 amp so I'm not understanding controller sizing when the batteries are limited to 400 amp max discharge. Why get the 500 amp controller when the solenoid is at 400 amp?

Any help explaining and/or provide upgrade suggestions is appreciated.
Raider97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-03-2020, 04:11 PM   #2
PearlPack
Getting Wild
Club Car

Default Re: 2014 CC Precedent upgrades with Allied Li Batteries?

I might can help here...I have the same cart except mine is 2012.

I have the Plum Quick Bandit, 2 gauge wires, 80 ah Allied Batteries, an HD solenoid but a STOCK controller.

I can do 30mph with no problems. I likely didn't need the HD solenoid but I was troubleshooting an issue that turned out to be the MCOR.
PearlPack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 05:32 PM   #3
Raider97
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Quote: