lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-22-2017, 05:05 PM   #1
1946J3Cub
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default G1 owner wannabe

I'm totally new to Buggies Gone Wild, having just joined. Am looking to pick up a gas-powered cart to keep at my airplane hangar as well as to take to Oshkosh, Wisconsin every summer for camping at the aviation event. Rented one at Oshkosh last summer and what an improvement over walking/bike riding.

I like older stuff and like to tinker; old houses, cars, bikes and planes. I do know which end of a wrench to wield but am no master mechanic by any stretch. But I am retired, patient and willing to learn. I even know a great deal more about golf carts now than I did a week ago when I began my search, ha ha.

Something about the two-stroke carts intrigues me. Drove SAABs for many years but never had a two-stroke 3cyl one and always thought it'd be neat albeit very impractical to own one seeing as how they are 60s vintage. That said, a two-stroke powered cart might scratch my two-stroke vehicle itch.

It's likely an apples and oranges question but, all else being equal, should one begin their quest looking for a two-stroke Yamaha or a two-stroke EzGo? Are they equally reliable, dependable, maintainable, restorable etc. For some reason I'm drawn to the Yamaha G1. But, if the right EzGo two-stroke came along should I consider it or not? Or would it be better to go four-stroke and avoid any and all two-stroke hassles? I know my questions are a little convoluted but any suggestions/thoughts are welcomed.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas,

Tom
1946J3Cub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 05:47 PM   #2
jjastram
Gone Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: G1 owner wannabe