lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Modified Golf Carts > On Road Golf Carts!
On Road Golf Carts! Low to the ground Golf Carts!

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-29-2010, 03:45 PM   #1
yamajeep
Not Yet Wild

Default Best Gas Frame for Custom Body?

Hi folks, I want to ask for your help with one of my projects. I recently, restored a mini baby jeep. Was a mess when I got it. I am new to Golf carts and want to ask what would you (everyone) consider to be the best frame to use on this baby jeep? I am a bit reluctant as I normaly keep (toys or collectables) with their original parts but this may be the exception.
I would like to share some of the details. I plan to use at shows or parades, no off road. Jeep is aluminum body formed over steel tube. This was made in the 60's and I just had to have it. I completely stripped the car which was made with Isetta parts for steering and pedals. Had a 200cc 3 speed Villiers engine. Independent suspension made by using a (I believe Vespa) scooter swing arm on driver side. Motor was linked to the swing arm via an auto U-joint and yoke arrangement? Original metal was very thin .030 and dented all over. I used .065 thick aluminum used for building full size cars. Jeep only has rear shock suspension. The frame was also crudley made and most of the bottom tubes were very rusted. I replaced the outer tubes that were the most deteriorated and reinforced weak areas. I made a new oak dashboard, steel windshield frame and hand formed a jeep grille.

OK, after all the work put into the jeep I thought of upgrading to all around suspension with a stronger frame and reliable braking. I like the old look but I think the jeep deserves to move up to modern times. I feel that a good EZGO frame or Yamaha frame could work nicely. Baby jeep measures 3' by 6'