lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-10-2017, 09:32 PM   #1
kylecallahan14
Not Yet Wild

Default G1 mysterious wire/charging system

Hi, all

I am by no means a wiring expert here, but I bought a G1 that has always "idled" when the key was turned to either forward or reverse (not off the pedal) I knew that wasnt right and I am not sure if someones been into the wiring harness or not so I pulled the floorboard and got to the pedals today and removed a bunch of dirt that was trapped under the brake pedal and I noticed the stop/start switch under the gas pedal seemed to be stuck.

I got everything loose and went to try it all again and I noticed that I had a wire that was broken out of the socket when I put it together... I naturally connected the wires back together to its mate and I turned the key and sure enough... it idles whichever way I turn the key and off I go...

I took it for a short drive when I got mad with it and when I got back to my garage I noticed when I let off the gas... it stopped the motor. I thought that was strange as it's never done that (as it should) Sure enough, i pushed the gas pedal down... off I went...

I noticed under further inspection that the wire that had come undone was actually the wire that broke... when that wire is connected... it idles with the key on foward or reverse... I disconnect that wire, and cart runs as it should...

I looked up a diagram and it looks like the wire that I'm referring to that makes the motor idle is the one I've circled... it appears to be RED.... I have no idea how to know what goes where BUT I am smart enough to know when that wire isnt connected... the cart doesnt run as it should BUT with it being disconnected... SOMETHING isnt going to work as it should...