lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-17-2018, 09:32 PM   #1
1arunem
Gone Wild

Default Engine swap question

Ok, so I'm fairly new to gas carts. Picked up what appears to be a 1998 bodied Yamaha gas cart with a JN6 engine which is good but the rear end is shot and the body not so great.

Also got a 2001 bodied cart with a JR3 engine which is said to be bad. Body, etc on this cart is better.

First, is the JN6 engine a direct swap for the JR3? Or should I leave the good JN6 engine in the cart it is in and swap bodies?(are they interchangeable?)..

Thanks and let me know if you need further info. Like I said, I am a bit of a newbie..
1arunem is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-18-2018, 12:04 AM   #2
cgtech
Over This Interview Is...

Yamaha

Default Re: Engine swap question

Bodies and engines are perfectly interchangeable both directions on those carts. You can mix and match parts freely on those 2. But determine years are as stated by the serial number on the carts, not by the sticker on the body.
cgtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 08:05 AM   #3
1arunem
Gone Wild

One cart (the 2001 body) is missing a the serial plate in on the upright in front of the battery box. Any other stamping locations?

Thanks!
Old 03-18-2018, 09:08 AM   #4
smallblock450sl
Sometime's............

Yamaha

Look for a "white tag" with the serial number between the rubber front body trim and storage box area on the driver side.
smallblock450sl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 11:03 AM   #5
1arunem
Gone Wild

White sticker is only half way there. Reads 2001 but no serial number (has been torn off).