lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-27-2009, 12:10 PM   #1
Col. Mustard
Not Yet Wild

Question GXT 804 - Questions about tuneup and Manual

Hey all, This is my first post (other than introduction post). I'm new to working on vehicles in general. So please don't laugh at my questions too much!

I just got a 1994 EZ-GO GXT 804 cart with dump bed that hasn't been crunk in over a year. So I'm cleaning it out, and I'm about to start on a basic tune-up with new oil, plugs, air filter, and fuel filter. I have a few simple questions to start off.

4 easy questions to begin with:

1) Where does the fuel filter go? My tune-up kit comes with a fuel filter that looks a lot like the one I use on my riding lawnmower. But I can't find anything that looks like it installed on my cart in any obvious place. There's a hose going from the top of the gas tank straight into the metal thing that's mounted above the key ignition. Shouldn't the fuel filter go between the tank and the metal thing?

2) Is there an easy way to take the fuel tank out of the cart for cleaning? I moved the clamp off the hose that's connected to the top of the fuel tank...but I just can't pull the hose off of the fuel tank. Am I just not pulling hard enough on it? Can i just unscrew the little plastic bolt that the hose is clamped to on top of the tank?

3) I noticed that there's some oil in the air box where the air filter was. The filter itself has a good bit of oil on it too. What causes this, and what's the best way to clean the oil out of the airbox?

4) Does anyone know where I can get a service manual or any decent info on the GXT 804? Can't seem to find any info that's specifically for my cart.
Col. Mustard is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links