lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-28-2017, 05:16 PM   #1
mervk
Not Yet Wild

Default Single direction installation diagram

First post and new member. Will try not to break any rules. I am a complete novice with auto electrics, as will be obvious from this post. For years my gas Yamaha starting/charging system has performed flawlessly, so I decided to duplicate that system on my Fairmont railway section car. Installed a brand new starter/generator, and wired it up with new voltage regulator to what I believe is similar to the wiring diagram for my cart. It starts the motor beautifully (no more crank handle!), however does not charge. Can someone please tell me where I am wrong in the wiring diagram below?

Note: As I do not need to start it backwards, I am using just one solenoid, and energising the solenoid during starting only by means of a starter button. I would however like it to charge when running in both directions.

I have not polarised the generator for two reasons. One, I assume that because the starter is working, there would be heaps of residual magnetism floating around in there, and two, I'm not sure if the regulator is an A or B circuit. Google tells me there is a different method for each. The regulator looks identical to that fitted to my cart.

Appreciate any help I may get from you guys. In the meantime I'll keep reading past posts. There is a wealth of info in this forum. Cheers. Merv.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Wirediag.jpg (56.4 KB, 0 views)
mervk is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 04-28-2017, 06:46 PM   #2
meimk
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: Single direction installation diagram