lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-28-2013, 10:23 PM   #1
dan161
Getting Wild

Default 1990 marathon drive clutch

I don't want to sound stupid here, but I'm relatively new to this golf cart thing and I want to know the difference between a comet clutch and regular OEM drive clutch. Then with that being said, is a comet clutch a better option on a 90 marathon with a pg3 motor then the regular stock clutch?

And last is there a cheaper option out there to pull the drive clutch other then a $40 pulller bolt?

Thanks in advance!
dan161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-30-2013, 08:37 AM   #2
dan161
Getting Wild

Default Re: 1990 marathon drive clutch

I know somebody on this site has the answer I need regarding this. Also I took the cover off my drive clutch last night and I guess I'm not sure how to determine if its worn out or not. I cleaned things out good and used a little graphite to lube some of the moving parts and I also stretched the spring a little. For some reason the cover on my clutch is really big versus what I am seeing on websites for the new ones that are somewhat cone shaped. Anybody know why?
Old 07-30-2013, 09:26 AM   #3
justlakinit
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Is this the clutch you have?
justlakinit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 10:32 AM   #4
dan161
Getting Wild

Nope, mine has a bigger rounder cover on it. I can get a picture of it later and post it. Its about the size of coffee can and completely flat on the outside end of it with a plate that bolts to it with 6 bolts.
Old 07-30-2013, 05:28 PM   #5
icyveins
Gone Wild

Yamaha