lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-27-2020, 08:57 PM   #1
Stewbuntu
Getting Wild
E-Z-GO

Default Headlights vs a small bar vs common upgrade options? Noob here

Is there a thread about all the upgrades, things to do and to avoid? Here are my thoughts and summary about headlights after reading a bunch of posts.

I have a g16. The headlights are dangerously dim on a non lit street, forest after a hunt, etc. It shines maybe 20 ft in front of me. I'm thinking that the bulb design H3 in a small housing limits the output options just like in a car upgrade. So your options are new housing with a larger/better reflector, a new bulb that over heats too much and kills the LED fast in the small original housing, HID projector at $200+, or a light bar at $20.

Original housing upgrade:

1.) New housing or bulb with 30 watts or more per bulb each and the battery would die quickly with the cart off just like a car. Mine has an accessory switch option on the key/ignition to run just the lights or stereo which could be handy if I had to do something at night and need light.

2.)The small housing would create too much heat vs a heat sink on a light bar or two small spot bars.

3.) LED bulb will more than likely glare out on coming traffic if the housing is designed like a car housing and the bulb is not designed well for that housing.

If I was going to do 30 watts each bulb why not get a complete upgrade and go to a mini morimoto HID projector that are made for motorcycles and have the cut off line and are like oem car projectors giving you a safe output that doesn't blare oncoming traffic. Plus they will not die from heat like an LED. They would be in there own housing as well.