lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-12-2016, 01:28 PM   #1
BK308
Not Yet Wild

Default 88 ezgo rebuild

Hey all, I’m a newbie with an 88 ezgo 2 stroke marathon that has seen better days. I have very little small engine experience but enjoy tinkering and can follow instructions well. I’ve already found a lot of useful info on the site and am looking for some additional advice.

When I got cart it had sat for years. Cleaned tank, new gas lines, new carb, new spark plug and still couldn’t get it to fire. Ran compression test (prob should have done that first) and only getting 55 (which isn’t good from research I’ve done). Contemplating either top end or full rebuild. I’ve read in other posts the seals seem to be a crucial factor in these engines. Can I replace the seals only doing a top end rebuild or does that require a full rebuild?

Have seen donyboy73 top end rebuild on youtube and it was very helpful seeing the process. Is there a step by step video or manual on doing a full rebuild on one of these engines? Thanks in advance for the help.
BK308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-13-2016, 09:00 AM   #2
cart around
Test before replacing

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 88 ezgo rebuild

This manual is for an 85. The two differences are that yours has a bigger carburetor, and the exhaust is slightly different. You can still use it to rebuild yours.

A top end rebuild is just removing the cylinder. Seals require removing the clutch, and flywheel.

The engine needs to be removed for both.

For me, that's a no brainer. The engine is already removed. Go ahead, and take care of the known problem areas while it is out.