lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-21-2016, 09:49 PM   #1
thesuthern1
Not Yet Wild

Yamaha

Question G2 Not running well

I have an 88 G2 that just won't run right. It's as if it won't "open up" all the way, it also backfires. Sometimes it will open up until I let off then it bogs and spits and sputters when I accelerate again. Even when it opens up it doesn't feel like it has the power it had previously.
I'm not a great mechanic but I've been trying. I've done the following.
Drained gas tank.
Removed in tank fuel filter and added inline filter.
Replaced fuel lines.
New spark plug(NGK per manual specs).
New carb.
Bypassed the governor.
Cleaned air filter and checked the filter housing for cracks.

I took it to my local golf cart repair shop and they said "the governor is bad and the labor would be too expensive to replace". They also said bypassing the governor would cause it to not run right. I suspect they didn't really check it out as they didn't charge me anything.
Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm totally baffled.
thesuthern1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 02-22-2016, 12:26 PM   #2
Spicyunicorn
Gone Wild
Yamaha

Default Re: G2 Not running well

Check the air box if it's not sealed correctly it won't run right I had one that was a little warped looked like lid was on correctly but it wasn't
Spicyunicorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2016, 12:29 PM   #3
Spicyunicorn
Gone Wild
Yamaha

Also once I did get the lid on correctly with a little persuasion I used a good zip tie to hold it down the rubber straps wouldn't hold it
Old 02-22-2016, 02:56 PM   #4
Dave in VA
maintaining a low profile

Yamaha

The G2 has a rev limiter...

That may be coming into play.