lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-13-2020, 04:16 PM   #1
glen moffatt
Not Yet Wild

Default NEWBIE Here need help 1988 ez-go

Attachment 213285

Attachment 213286

Attachment 213287

Attachment 213288So I have had this cart for 3 years and its been stored in my garage and finally put the clutch in..as well as new carb, fuel pump, battery.. I am getting spark..with the help of this forum decided to pull muffler and look at rings..have compression at 120 psi..and found rings to be good...but piston dont look good..(see photos) what would I do next pull head and change piston? spent more time to make it look good then did on engine( was purple when I got it) It does try to fire but no DICE any help would be appreciated as I have sold this cart and am already taking a bath on it. CHEERS!
glen moffatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-13-2020, 04:33 PM   #2
CP241
Nincompoop village idiot

Club Car

Default Re: NEWBIE Here need help 1988 ez-go

Sorry to say, but that engine is all jacked up. Looks like water or mud in the case, piston is cracked. I’d guarantee the cylinder walls are destroyed as well. You’re gonna need to pull the motor apart completely and probably replace everything.

Judging by the looks of what you CAN see, I’d bet the needle bearings on the crankshaft to connecting rod are shot as well. If you can manage to get it to run, and with 120psi I’d bet you can as long as the crank seals Are good enough for it to suck in fuel, I’d give it about 3 minutes of run time before it grenades completely.
CP241 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 04:35 PM   #3
CP241
Nincompoop village idiot

Club Car