lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-14-2010, 03:37 PM   #1
cervi
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

Default g16 smoking when take off or slow speed

I added oil and since doing so my cart is smoking from muffler on take off and idle, any thoughts? I used 10w40 car oil. Could that be the problem? help IM a rookie to the golf cart
cervi is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 11-14-2010, 05:31 PM   #2
spriddle
Admin

Yamaha

Default Re: g16 smoking when take off or slow speed

I would run 10w30 year round. 10w40 shouldn't cause this problem. Usually what causes this is too much oil, it backing up through the pvc pipe and entering the air filter box. Check your air filter box and see if it has oil in it. Check the little hose going to the front of the air cleaner box and see if it is blowing oil. I had a 99 G16 that did this. Believe it or not but a clogged up fuel pump was causing the problem. I had to disassemble the fuel pump and clean it. If you've dump any amount of oil into the carb and it has made it way to the muffler, it will take a while to burn it all off.

My G16 did start blowing oil back into the air box about a year later and ended up just pulling off the hose to the air box, let it hang down toward the ground, and plug off the inlet on the air box.

See if your oil smells like gas and way over full. You may be dumping gas into the crankcase which is usually a fuel pump or carb. float problem. May just need a good cleaning.

spriddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 10:07 AM   #3
cervi
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

thanks for the tips. Ill try them out.
Old 11-21-2010, 11:05 AM   #4
cervi
Not Yet Wild
Yamaha

quick update......