lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-24-2012, 01:16 PM   #1
auster
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Unhappy Solenoid or Controller?

Im new to the forum and a first time cart owner of a 1992 Marathon (electric). Cart has been modified from 36 volts to 48 volts. I replaced Batteries with new trojans. Replaced all battery and motor cable with all 4g welding wire. Checked all wiring per schematic charts. Every terminal has been cleaned. Problem is when I depressed the pedal all I got was a puff of smoke from the diode on top of the solenoid. Im not very good with electrical stuff but researching as much as possible to learn. The solenoid is 36 volt, controller is a Curtis 36/48 400 amp. Motor I think is stock GE 36 volt. I realize this is a broad topic but looking for any answers and suggestions from the pros. Thanks.
auster is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 11-24-2012, 01:43 PM   #2
79camaro
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Solenoid or Controller?

Does the solenoid click when the accelerator is pressed?
79camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 01:56 PM   #3
jdunmyer
Gone Wild
Mixed Breed

You said that you replaced all the wiring, are you absolutely certain that it was done correctly? The reason I ask is smoke from a diode usually indicates that the polarity is backwards. If the diode had been reversed (you shouldn't have touched it when replacing cables), it would have blown out, but the cart would still probably work, as the only purpose of the diode on the solenoid is to protect the accelerator microswitch from arcing.

Edited to add: