lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 05-19-2015, 09:09 PM   #1
FloGrown
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

Default 91 Gas Marathon not starting

I recently wired up my marathon according to the wiring diagram but it will not start. When I turn the key, all I get is a clicking noise coming from the voltage regulator. Should I replace this part? I've checked all my grounds and connections and everything seems fine. The ignition system is all stock, would it matter to upgrade to the HEI? I appreciate any responses as I am still learning about carts.
FloGrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 05-19-2015, 11:11 PM   #2
sccowboy
It ain't gonna be easy.

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 91 Gas Marathon not starting

The clicking sound is coming from your solenoid. Verify that you have a good battery that has been load tested. If that's good to go, then lets look at the solenoid as possibly being faulty or possibly a bad ground.
sccowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 06:21 AM   #3
dcotton4
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

When I turn the key on in my carts I don't hear anything. The solenoid shouldn't click until you push on the pedal
dcotton4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 06:59 AM   #4
FloGrown
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO

I'm positive it's the regulator clicking, I can feel it when i turn the key and the accelerator pedal is engaged. The battery is brand new so I doubt that is the problem. I took a wire wheel to all grounding points and got them down to bare metal. I went around all the connections with a meter and got good voltage throughout the system. I'm also not getting the reverse buzzer to sound, not sure if thats a sign of something somewhere else.
Old 06-02-2015, 09:10 PM   #5
FloGrown
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO