lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-04-2018, 03:47 PM   #1
rbail1
Not Yet Wild

Default GE Motor Question....

I am currently trying to replace the magnet on a GE motor. Not sure why it's fighting me this hard. The old magnet broke off of the sleeve so I am currently trying to remove the sleeve off of the shaft. I have tried using paint can openers.....they broke. Picks.........broke. I am a newb to electric motors but I have mechanical ability and tools (apparently not the right ones). Question: Can I remove the end cover of the motor to gain better access to this sleeve? I could get this thing off quick with better access to the backside of the sleeve. I have a six inch lift so unless those screws are really long that hold the end cover on I can remove the plate with the motor on if it is possible to do so. I don't want to start removing screws until I know where they go.......
rbail1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-04-2018, 05:08 PM   #2
mrgolf
Old Sky Soldier

Club Car

Default Re: GE Motor Question....

Just pull the motor. That would easier to work on taking the motor apart.
mrgolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 05:19 PM   #3
rbail1
Not Yet Wild

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgolf View Post
Just pull the motor. That would easier to work on taking the motor apart.
I have access to the magnet. Pulling the motor gains me no advantage to pulling the sleeve off. I was only asking to see if that cover on the end is just that? Can the cover simply be removed or is there more to it than the four bolts? With the cover out of the way I could gain a little more mechanical leverage.
Old 06-04-2018, 05:50 PM   #4
mrgolf
Old Sky Soldier

Club Car