lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-24-2012, 01:02 PM   #1
old231
Not Yet Wild

Default Engine will not turn over

I just picked up a 1989 Ez Go that has not run in 7-8 years. The engine will not turn over. The micro switches on the accelerator and brake check out ok. The key switch checks out and I bench checked the starter solenoid. I would like the engine to at least turn over, not start, before I move on to draining gas, cleaning the carb, etc. Can you tell I'm new to carts?
old231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-24-2012, 01:40 PM   #2
camaroluvz28
Gone Wild

Yamaha

Default Re: Engine will not turn over

try putting cart in neutral and turning the drive clutch over by hand...does cart still have oil in it?
camaroluvz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 03:08 PM   #3
old231
Not Yet Wild

I pulled the plug and can turn it over by the starter/generator v-belt. It does not seem like much compression when I put my thumb over the plug hole.
Old 08-24-2012, 03:16 PM   #4
camaroluvz28
Gone Wild

Yamaha

k so your getting no solenoid click when you press pedal...that tells you its in the starting circuit before it even gets to the starter...try running a jumper wire from the small post on the solenoid with the black wire going to it to the battery negative and try it again...
camaroluvz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 03:27 PM   #5
bignate524
Getting Wild

E-Z-GO

not much compression....sounds like it might be time for a top end rebuild my friend, or at least time to check out your piston and rings
bignate524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 06:50 AM   #6
racin161
Gone Wild