lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Club Car
Gas Club Car Gas DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-22-2017, 09:52 AM   #1
Jason has a buggie
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default 1989 that sat for a while

I am going to start this out with thanking everyone in advance for your patience and information that may be provided! I am new to Carts and Forums, this is my first post as well as my first cart.

Let's get to it then. I have an '89 Club Car DS ( that has supposedly only sat for 1 yr) and I am no mechanic or even claim to be knowledgeable about motors, but even if it was only sitting for a year it wasn't very well maintained. Anyway, my father-in-law gave me this STOCK cart and he did the basics for me (new fuel filter before and after fuel pump, couple of new tires and power washed the exterior) basically a solid machine but I am the type that wants to bring it back to excellent and reliable transportation.

I have done a little lurking around the threads already posted and looking for a little more personal attention (okay let's call it what it is, hand holding). This '89 Club Car DS again was given to me and will be used as a run to small events or the grocery store in our small community and to the golf course that is less than a mile away to play rounds of golf. I would like to get it into a condition that I feel comfortable that my wife can take it without fear of breaking down and when the boys get of age they can drive it as well (legally).

The things that I have done to the cart so far. I have taken the brakes apart and cleaned them, cleaned the motor as it was caked with white rock dust that seemed to have gotten wet and crusted all over it, installed LED brake/headlight/turn signal/horn.