lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-02-2013, 06:46 PM   #1
abieex
Gone Loco

Yamaha

Cool G1 Outer Rear Axle Bearing Replacement

The whole outer rear axle bearing thing has been making me a little crazy these last few days. I've heard of welded spacers, welded bearings, welded sleeves on one side and not the other and other things as well. I also read that those bearings come with the axle and the whole thing comes as a unit. None of this made much sense to me. In the 70s I worked as a bike mechanic for both Yamaha and Honda, if there is one thing I know, its that those folks don't make things work they over engineer. That being said I'm going to offer up my opinion and also what worked for me. OPINION: If you have an axle with spot welds, spacers, welded bearings or anything like that it did not come from the factory that way. OPINION: All G1 axles are alike from the factory. If you look at the pictures you see 2 axles as they came from the factory, one with a new bearing! OPINION: There is no difference of any kind between driver and passenger side. Can you imagine a factory forman in Japan telling someone "If it doesn't fit just tac a little steel on there and move it along". Holy Sushi Tojo, his whole family would have had to flee the island!!!!!!