lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 03-18-2012, 08:47 PM   #1
rb8484
Getting Wild

Club Car

Default G2 engine problem.....engine knock??

Well, most of you know of my cart build. The cart I got supposedly had the engine rebuilt last summer. The guy seemed to know what he was talking about, but I am new to carts.
Today was the first day I was able to take it out and run it around. Before I did, I changed the oil and gas. Took it down the road and it started getting loud, sounds to me like a engine knock. I really need someone to look at it that knows the sounds of these engines. Any thoughts? I sure wish some of you yamaha guys were close to me to listen to it!

Looking for ideas on where to go with this issue
Thanks!
Rob
rb8484 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 03-18-2012, 09:33 PM   #2
sho305
Vegas modded 420

Yamaha

Default Re: G2 engine problem.....engine knock??

One problem these have is the counterbalance runs on the block and it wears, then it knocks. Some have experimented with trying bushings in them. Its not real loud in the ones I heard. There is no bearing its the case. You can take the shaft out.
http://www.buggiesgonewild.com/gas-y...nce-shaft.html
http://www.buggiesgonewild.com/gas-y...-balancer.html

If its the rod you are in trouble. I would listen to the engine and see if the knock is in the head, crank, or the side case where the balance shaft runs....if you can tell. (with a listening tool or rod/etc.)