lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-15-2017, 04:37 PM   #1
CPOdaddyduke
Not Yet Wild

Default '85 Marathon Gas Runs Erratic - full bore or nada

Just recently acquired a project cart - 1985 EZGO Marathon Gas - with the reversible 2-stroke engine.

I am a pretty good mechanic, but I have little experience on 2-stroke engines (other than chain saws, trimmers, etc). And I have never seen an engine that ran backwards to make the cart go backwards - kinda messed my head up for a while.

For the following descriptions, the wheels are blocked up off the ground to keep cart stationary:

Engine cranks OK, but doesn't start/run/fire, at least at first. If you hold the throttle wide open, it will fire and run wide open for a few seconds, then die out for a few seconds, then run wide open for a few seconds, then die out, and so forth and so on. It will not idle or run at any lo-mid throttle, only WOT. Those few seconds that it does run seem fairly smooth (except for loud and fast).

If I keep squirting starting fluid in the carb, it'l keep running, for the most part.
Choke doesn't seem to have much effect.

I replaced the carburetor with a brand new one. Still has EXACT same problem. I have not made any adjustments on the carburetor; just installed it out of the box. What adjustments do these need?