lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-03-2009, 12:17 PM   #1
ddchallenger
Not Yet Wild

Club Car

Default 84 EZGO Surging at Low Speed

I recently purchased a 1984 EZGO Marathon with the 244cc Robin motor. The problem I am experiencing is at low speed, the engine surges and then cuts out then surges then cuts out...etc while the gas pedal is maintained at the same position and on occasion the cart will backfire. From half throttle to full throttle the cart runs great, no issues and no backfiring. I can't figure out what is causing this. Are there adjustments to microswitches, carb, etc that would cause this? What are the factory settings for the carb?

I am new to EZGO's, I have always owned club cars and I am quite familiar with them. Can anyone suggest what might be the problem?

Thanks!
ddchallenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-05-2009, 10:10 AM   #2
Chopper Tom
Not Yet Wild

Default Re: 84 EZGO Surging at Low Speed

Not sure about Robins motors but I have the same prob with my 20hp Onan on my Wheelhorse Tractor. It may be a weak governor spring.
Chopper Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 04:49 AM   #3
ruredy
Born Wild

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddchallenger View Post
I recently purchased a 1984 EZGO Marathon with the 244cc Robin motor. The problem I am experiencing is at low speed, the engine surges and then cuts out then surges then cuts out...etc while the gas pedal is maintained at the same position and on occasion the cart will backfire. From half throttle to full throttle the cart runs great, no issues and no backfiring. I can't figure out what is causing this. Are there adjustments to microswitches, carb, etc that would cause this? What are the factory settings for the carb?
Thanks!