lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 11-06-2011, 09:09 PM   #1
90t04
Not Yet Wild

Default Old Yamaha, wont start. Are these the right parts?

Hey all, Im new to the golf cart stuff, but I am a mechanic by profession. Just have a few questions I cant seem to find the answer to.

I'm trying to get my father in laws Yamaha running. Its been sitting for a couple years or so out in the Arizona desert. I got all the bad gas out of it and fixed a few obvious problems. Pack rats chewed some wiring, someone had attached the rear end vent to the oil tank vent with a section of hose.

Anyway it turns over normally but I am getting no fire. I found that there is very little flow from the fuel pump. After searching the forum here I read about the crank seals going bad, and not giving enough pulse to drive the pump.

So I pressurized the cylinder and blocked off the intake and exhaust and can hear air escaping behind the fan. I am guessing the seals about gone.

So to get to the point heres my questions: I cant seem to find any identifying numbers on the cart. I am guessing its a g1 by the age. I found this sticky but it didnt reveal any numbers.

I found this website:
https://www.eastcoastcarts.com/catal...Carts/3945.htm

which looks like they have what I need but I just want to be sure.

Also, is there anything else that I should do while I am in there? I checked the cylinder compression and got 120 dry. (Didn't try it with oil.) Sound ok?

Here is a photo of the cart in its current dismantled state:

Thanks in advance for your help
90t04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 11-06-2011, 09:19 PM   #2
TROUBADOUR
Gone Wild

Yamaha

Default Re: Old Yamaha, wont start. Are these the right parts?