lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO > Lithium EZGO

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-13-2018, 01:03 PM   #1
nas
Not Yet Wild

Mixed Breed

Default 2003 TXT custom lithium/solar setup

Here is a little write up on the solar/lithium setup I just finished up.
I used 21 individual 12v 20amp hour cells that are internally voltage regulated for a minimum of 8v cutoff and max 14.4v cutoff so no need for a battery controller. There are 7 cells paralleled in each bank(rigid box) for 12v at 140 amp hours per bank x 3 for 36v. I then built a custom aluminum frame with 8 solar panels with inline diodes to a 72v streetlight digital self cooling solar controller that is programmable set to max 42v then it keeps running but will only charge once voltage drops below 42v.
Ive been playing with this setup for around 6 months on another junker cart and I have never had to plug it in since I started granted I dont run them all day long everyday but in essence it is a 100% solar setup. Im getting around 20 miles on a full charge if I drive it 20 miles nonstop(around the block on dirt road a bunch of times) but if I drive a few miles then sit for a bit then a few miles it never runs out of juice. The solar charger when the batteries are under 38 volts will run at about 4 amps constant then trickles down to .1 amp when its back up around 42v. The solar panel is thermally protected with 4 micro fans underneath when the sensor hits 120 deg. the fans kick on to ensure max performance. Just thought Id share in case anybody else has considered this.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20180412_144303582_HDR.jpg (274.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180412_144051715.jpg (192.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180412_144159641.jpg (191.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20180412_144220226.jpg (81.1 KB, 0 views)
nas is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW