lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 04-29-2020, 02:56 PM   #1
tsheehan7
Not Yet Wild

Default New Here - Buying Advice Needed

Hi all. I'm new to this whole thing. I'm looking for a "basic" 4 seater just to drive the family around the neighborhood. By "basic" I just mean that I don't need speakers, neon lights, lift kit, and huge wheels/tires. But I do want a capable and reliable vehicle, and I would like a long top. I've read up on lithium batteries and I'm intrigued by those as well.

Longest distance I'll drive is about 1.5 miles to the pool (3 miles roundtrip), but my neighborhood is extraordinarily hilly. My city does allow carts on surface streets in some areas near me, so I could get there one day, but not immediately.

A friend of a friend is a refurbished cart dealer with a fairly large inventory. He seems to deal mostly in EzGo. He has suggested:

- a 2017 RXV (with upgraded wheels and tires, new body, LED lights) and original batteries with less than 400 hours for $5,300 with long top.
- a 2013 RXV with new lithium batteries with new body, new wheels, and tires, LED light package and long top) for $5,500. Going with traditional batteries knocks something like $900 off that price.

When I asked if there was anything more basic (cheaper!), he offered a 2012 TXT with no frills for $2,800 (not sure about batteries), but it's a DC motor which he doesn't recommend for my hilly neighborhood.

He provides a one year warranty on all of his carts.

His prices seem in line with private sales from craigslist or facebook here locally, although I do notice that used Yamaha's tend to go for about $1,000 less around here, so I can find similar looking carts with newer batteries for close to $4-$4.5k. I just don't know if Yamaha is inferior to EzGo.