lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-01-2011, 12:05 PM   #1
BruceP7
Not Yet Wild
Club Car

Default 98 Powerdrive 48 battery light on during charge

Hi Guys, I am new to Wild, but enjoyed reading alot of the threads.

My problem is that when I plug in charger (PowerSystem4 for my 98 DS ClubCar the charger comes on after a few seconds, then cycles off after a few seconds and then comes back on at full charge (which I read is normal), BUT then at some point during the charge cycle (sometimes a few minutes and some times after 1-2 hours) the red warning dash light comes on.

Sometimes the charger will turn itself off and the red light stays on until I unplug the charger. Sometimes the charger stays on and I can hear the batteries "bubbling" and I will unplug the charger. When I check the batteries after a round of golf sometimes there are dry cells and I put in distilled water, let the batteries sit for 1/2 hour and then plug in charger.

The batteries are 2 years old and were installed by a golfcart service techie here in Florida, so they should all be ok. The red warning light does NOT come on while I am operating the cart so I don't think it's a low battery charge condition.

In reading a lot of threads I see there is an OBC that might be the problem, but it is cycling upon plugging in charger (according to threads I have read).

Do I have a bad battery, bad OBC or what????

Thanks for any help you guys can provide. Happy New Years. Bruce
BruceP7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-01-2011, 01:26 PM   #2
OLD MEC
Gone Wild

Club Car

Default Re: 98 Powerdrive 48 battery light on during charge

You may have problems but first I would read DrBob's site about OBC's to better understand charging functions.