lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-18-2019, 07:16 AM   #1
J-ROB
Out to Lunch

Yamaha

Default 2003? TXT Clutch Questions

I am helping a good buddy with his TXT his drive belt is worn out and the sliding sheave on the primary clutch is cupped near the outer edge pretty significantly.

I will clarify on the exact year model later this morning when I get a chance, but it is definitely a 2000+ TXT.

I am new to golf carts and have spent the past two months upgrading and refreshing an '87 Yamaha G2. I feel like at this point I know my way around a G2 quite well, but this EZGO is a totally different animal. I am reaching out for some guidance from all of you EZGO pros as I don't want to assume what I know about my Yamaha's clutches and belt to be the same for the EZGO. I know they are both CVTs but from some quick looking at parts I see there are some differences in upgrade options.

My questions:

1. Should the primary clutch have a cupped sliding sheave or should it be smooth like the Yamaha?

2. If I am correct in thinking the primary's sliding sheave should not be cupped, what is the best bang for the buck replacement clutch?

3. On the secondary clutch, what do we need to inspect/rebuild/replace? Depending on condition, if a new secondary is required, what is the best bang for the buck considering we are wanting to add a torque spring?

4. For my Yamaha, I installed a torque spring in the secondary clutch which helped with low end torque and my climbing ability. For the EZGOs I am seeing torque springs for both primary and secondary clutches. Can someone fill me in on the advantages of upgrading one or the other, or both?

5. What is the best bang for the buck torque spring(s) upgrade?