lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 12-24-2016, 01:35 PM   #1
jashworth14
Not Yet Wild

Default 1987 EZ Go Marathon not reving up

Just picked up a 87 gas marathon. I'm new to golf carts and small engines etc. when I got the cart it was not running. I was told that it was running when parked and it sat for 3 months. I put in a new fuel pump, carb, fuel lines, battery, and I cleaned out the gas tank. It now runs but doesn't get enough RPMs to engage the clutch so it won't move. It's reved up a few times enough to engage the clutch but that's it. It''ll backfire and the eventually flood out. Also, the battery seems to not be staying charged even though it's a brand new 12v. What are some possible problems with my cart?
jashworth14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 12-24-2016, 02:04 PM   #2
cart around
Test before replacing

E-Z-GO

Default Re: 1987 EZ Go Marathon not reving up

It sounds like it is running on the starter, and not actually running.

Compression should be 120 psi down to 100.

A good steady spark is essential.

Pull the fuel line from the carburetor. Crank it over to see if it's shooting a good healthy spurt. You already changed the pump. If it doesn't shoot a healthy spurt, you are looking at crankshaft seals.

Even if it does shoot a good spurt, it probably still needs seals.

Here is an 85 manual. Everything is the same except the 87 has an extra microswitch mounted to the FnR switch. It's turning over, so you don't need to be concerned with that.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 85-EZGO(2) (1).pdf (6.71 MB, 0 views)
cart around is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2016, 03:59 PM   #3
jashworth14
Not Yet Wild