lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas Yamaha
Gas Yamaha Gas Yamaha Golf Cars; G1 through "The Drive" and U-Max Utility Vehicles

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 08-14-2020, 05:43 PM   #1
DonJen06
Not Yet Wild

Default ‘85 G1 gas electrical help needed

Hello, newbie here. I’m sure this topic is probably been talked about thousands of times. I searched as much as my old eyes can see. I’m not computer savvy, but mechanically inclined. Hard time seeing though. Please bear with me....

1985 Yamaha G1 2stroke. Runs great. Motor good. Drove it, parked, went to back out and nothing. Negative fuse blown. I changed fuse and it ran until I stopped and switched to reverse again. Checked wiring, replaced negative fuse again, and worked in forward. But blew negative fuse again. I did decide to change the key/position switch. It was original and worn a bit. And I changed a relay because as I was checking the coil On a separate battery (while removed) my shaky hands Blew the coil. My mistake.
Anyways, after replacing those items after cart sat at camp for a week, it ran good, forward and reverse.. until I stopped. Now when I change the negative fuse, it blows immediately with key off.
I’m “thinking” switch on the pedal (start/stop switch?).....

Any help would be great..
Thank you all so much.

I’ll try to read up more when my eyes rest a bit. It took over 45 minutes to type this already.

Thank you again.
DonJen06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 08-15-2020, 02:09 AM   #2
slonomo
Searching for The Way

Yamaha

Default Re: ‘85 G1 gas electrical help needed

Try disconnecting the pedal start/stop switch. Does the fuse blow? If not, replace the switch. Sounds like that switch might be shorted out in the off position.
slonomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 12:26 PM   #3
DonJen06
Not Yet Wild