lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Gas EZGO
Gas EZGO Gas EZGO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-08-2012, 09:10 AM   #1
Mish313
Not Yet Wild

Default Smaller belt size? Pro's cons? 2001 TXT

Hey guys,

Im pretty new to the Buggy modding scene but I have allot of experience in in golf machinery maintenance. I have picked up a Buggy from work for nothing and I have taken on the task of doing it up in my spare time!

The question I have is about the the belt of the main drive....

I already have cleaned the main clutch and replaced the springs inside with a performance spring and have replaced the driven clutch with a 28 degree and again added a performance spring.

Ive been reading about people putting smaller belts on their buggies but im not too sure for what gain? It seems to add more torque to the buggy but does it affect the top ends? What are the pros and cons here?

My buggy needs a new main drive belt so I need to purchase a new one anyways advice is needed! My buggy is only going to be a personal one to play golf in but I want it to be fast and cool!! I already have lifted it 6" and have 12" rims on her ;)
Mish313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-08-2012, 09:33 AM   #2
ez go go
Doin' the Wild Thang

E-Z-GO

Default Re: Smaller belt size? Pro's cons? 2001 TXT

Shorter belt will give you a lot more low end torque. Some top end is lost but can be recovered by governor adjustment. The shorter belt and the 28 make it hard to shift the cart from foward to reverse but that will also work itself out with use.
ez go go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 01:33 PM   #3
emcdawg
Not Yet Wild
E-Z-GO