lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric EZGO
Electric EZGO Electric EZ GO Marathon, Medalist, TXT and RXV.

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 02-21-2016, 02:31 PM   #1
JohnnieB
Techno-Nerd

E-Z-GO

Default Thought I had a DPI charger failure, but didn't

There wasn't a core charge when I bought the seven Exide batteries I'm using for a 42V pack, so I kept the original T-105 batteries in the 36V pack and I've been keeping them alive for nearly four years with the 36V DPI Accusense charger I was using. (I use them for various experiments. )

Anyway, yesterday afternoon was sunny and 70°, so I checked the fluid levels in my cart batteries, ran it around the bumpy property to agitate the electrolyte (it stratifies when sitting still for a length of time) and took quick trip into town.

Afterwards, I went over to the T-105's to check their fluid levels and noticed the DPI was flashing all of its LEDs. That happens occasionally if there is a power failure, so I unplugged it for the AC outlet, waited a bit and plugged it back in. It didn't start normally (usually goes to 5A on meter during the pre-qualification stage , but only went to about 2A this time), then went into the bulk charge stage for only a few seconds, but amps didn't rise to 18A as usual and then started flashing the LEDs again.

That charger has been plugged into AC power nearly continuously for about 5 years and connected to a 36V battery pack almost as long, whenever I wasn't using the cart, or playing the the batteries after they were removed from the cart.

The DPI charger only has two parts, transformer and PC board and I could hear the transformer humming, so I figured the PC board had bit the dust was planning on digging out my old PW-II after I checked the fluid levels.