lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 07-01-2017, 12:02 AM   #1
ufjaz
Not Yet Wild

Default Possible Rear Axle Bearing Bad?

Hi everybody, newbie here.

My sister's CC DS is a 2005 (?). The axle is a little noisy. After use, the driver rear wheel is hotter than the other. I jacked up the rear off the ground. When it is accelerated the driver side wheel initially moves, but then stops, while the passenger side keeps rotating. I can't detect any wobble movement when I try to shake it.

I'm guessing the driver side outer bearing is bad. I wonder what the likleyhood that the inner bearing is bad - or perhaps another issue. Any opinions?

Also, I could not find any how to's. I am mildly mechanical. Is this a garage project? Any suggestions? Thanks.
ufjaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 07-01-2017, 12:20 AM   #2
Muddog
Crazy Wild

Club Car

Default Re: Possible Rear Axle Bearing Bad?

It sounds like the axle bearing has seized.
Removing the axle is a garage project, but replacing the bearing is not.
It should be pressed on.
Once you have removed the axle, it is best to take it to a machine shop and have them r&r bearings.
Muddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 01:04 AM   #3
ufjaz
Not Yet Wild

I'm assuming it is a "G" type axle. (I just figured out how to differentiate between "G" and "K".)

So I assume there is an internal snap ring to remove, and once done, the axle should just pull straight out.

I then take the axle assembly to a machine shop to press off the bearing and retainer. And have the previously purchased new bearing and the reused retainer pressed on.

Any recommendations on where to purchase the bearing and seal?

Install the seal in the axle tube and insert the axle assembly.