lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-26-2019, 04:56 PM   #1
andigity
Not Yet Wild

Default 97 Club Car Precedent Grinding Noise when Coasting

Hello, I am pretty new to fixing a golf cart. I have a 1997 Precedent DS and it runs fine. Goes foward, reverse with switch etc. However, when coasting at high speeds it made a grinding noise. Now it makes the grinding noise whenever driving and I left off the gas pedal.

Brakes are tight. Sounds like from the rear. Causes for a griding noise when coasting. Sounds smooth (not super fast) in forward.

Any help would be great. What to look for, what the solution may be, how to do it. Help. From what I read in other posts, maybe a nut/spacer?
andigity is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 01-26-2019, 10:03 PM   #2
NoleFan4Ever
MOD of all BS!

Club Car

Default Re: 97 Club Car Precedent Grinding Noise when Coasting

That is a Sepex cart and has regen braking that is applied when you are off the pedal as it helps to slow the cart. It is similar to a motor brake and it is applied through the motor be design while also returning some energy back to the pack. I have several and some are louder/nosier then others. The only other thing is sometimes you hear the motor brushes rubbing....
NoleFan4Ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 07:48 AM   #3
andigity
Not Yet Wild

Thanks! I also read that it could be spacers between the transaxle and the wheel itself or the nuts are loose?

If its the brushes or bearings (as I read that too) easy fix? with common tools and wrenches?

The Golf Cart shop said that this model 1997 DS doesnt have regen braking?