lifted club cars - lifted ezgo
Home FAQDonate Who's Online
Go Back   Buggies Gone Wild Golf Cart Forum > Golf Cart Repair and Troubleshooting > Electric Club Car
Electric Club Car Electric DS, and Precedent golf cars

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 06-06-2019, 11:00 AM   #1
bbflo
Not Yet Wild

Default 2003 Club Car DS IQ 48v Charging

I'm new to electric carts, bought my first one a few days ago, came with brand new POWERTRON P8000 batteries and what I'm thinking is the original PowerDrive charger.

I plugged it in lastnight for the first time, worked fine, and then when the meter on the charger got into the 5-10 amp range it would turn off for 30 seconds, turn back on for 1 minute, and kept repeating.

Is that normal?
bbflo is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
BGW

Golf car forum Sponsored Links

Old 06-06-2019, 11:16 AM   #2
Tigg-N-Taz
Not Yet Wild

Default Re: 2003 Club Car DS IQ 48v Charging

Not sure about it but sounds like it maybe the obc. Search the threads for a obc reset process. It may help

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Tigg-N-Taz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 11:45 AM   #3
NoleFan4Ever
MOD of all BS!

Club Car

Turning off to sense the charge is normal, but not back on for a minute and repeating itself.

Try placing the cart in Tow, then disconnecting the main pack negative cable for a half hour and then hooking it back up and placing it back to Run. This will reset the OBC, which controls the charge.
NoleFan4Ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 10:15 AM   #4
bbflo
Not Yet Wild

Thanks!

I put the cart in "tow", disconnected the main negative for about an hour, hooked it back up, turned it back to "run" ..

Plugged in the charger, it waits about 1 minute, turns on for about 3 seconds, the needle shakes around and buzzes, then turns off for another minute, and repeats.

The question now is, is it the charger or the OBC?
Old 06-07-2019, 10:28 AM   #5
Fairtax4me
Bonafide Nincompoop

Club Car